Hit & Run Charges
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Virginia
In Virginia, as in most states, it is against the law to leave the scene of an accident, regardless of who caused it. Drivers involved in traffic accidents are required to stop at the scene, report the accident to the police, and to wait until law enforcement arrives. If the motorist is injured and requires emergency medical care, he or she would receive this care as a first action and report the accident as soon as reasonably possible thereafter.
If the driver caused damage to another's vehicle or property and the owner of that vehicle or property is not on the scene, the driver should make a reasonable effort to locate and inform the other party. If the other party cannot be located, then the driver is expected to leave a note and report the incident within 24 hours to local police. Information provided would include the time and place of the accident and the damage incurred. Information provided between drivers at any accident should include name, address, driver's license, vehicle registration number, and insurance data.
Hit and Run Penalties
Anyone who commits a hit and run in Virginia may be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on how serious the accident was, whether anyone was injured or killed, and the degree of property damage incurred. Causing damage to an unattended vehicle or other property in the amount of $250 or less will result in a Class 4 misdemeanor, punishable by a fine and 3 points assessed on one's driving record.
A hit and run accident which causes property damage only of $250 to $1,000 will result in a Class 1 misdemeanor charge. A conviction of this charge may lead to jail time of up to one year, fines of up to $2,500, and a license suspension of up to six months. Hit and run accidents which result in more than $1,000 in property damage or the injury or death of another are generally charged as felonies, punishable by prison terms of up to 10 years and fines of up to $2,500.
If you are being investigated for a hit and run incident anywhere in Virginia, it is highly advised that you obtain experienced legal representation immediately. Any type of hit and run charge is a criminal matter which will require competent legal assistance. Contact the firm to arrange to speak with Virginia hit & run Attorney Pignone to get the capable legal protection and guidance you need in this matter.